1. Name

Eric Harris

2. Role

Visiting Research Fellow (Informatics) at the Human Centred Technology Lab

3. Mac or PC?

PC, all about the devil you know (or thought you knew!).

4. What is your favourite book?

“A Deepness in the Sky” by Vernor Vinge. The first place I heard of smart dust and animal pack minds.

5. How did you get here?

“Through the twists and turns of fickle Miss Fate”

I received my BSc in Maritime Technology at UWIST in 1985, after which I completed a MSc in Robotics at Coventry University. I joined Bwi Inex Vision systems in 1991, and left in 1996 as Technical & Operations Director for their European and African Operations. After a short time with a design company developing robotic “Hexipod” technology, I went on to be a Research Fellow on various EPSRC sponsored projects at the University of Sussex.

6. What are you working on right now?

I am keen to investigate the relationship between technology, especially new and emerging technologies, and the older community. It seems to me there is great opportunity to enrich the lives of older people with emerging technologies, that better supports their (our) needs and wants. I am working on creating some web space to engage the older community to play a more active role in the design and development of new and existing technologies, rather than being just passive consumers of technology.

7. Where do you take your inspiration from?

Bumble bees, blue tack, wine gums, the BBC.

Shooting stars, racing cars, Andrew Mars.

Phidgets, widgets, smart_its and motes.

Serendipity, the preposterous and of course “The Interweb”.

8. What is the biggest challenge you face in your work?

Focus and concentration

9. What else do you like to do?

Running, walking, gardening and most of all cooking with my wife, daughter and friends.

10. What’s next for you?

If only I knew!

