1. Name Pejman Mirza-Babaei

Pejman

2. Role
PhD candidate

3. Mac or PC?
Mac. I shutdown my PC in Sep 2009, and never turned it on again, yay! 🙂

4. What is your favourite book?
I know it is strange but I don’t have favourite book.

5. How did you get here?
I did my Master in IT for E-Commerce (at the Sussex University, 2007) and had HCI course as one of my electives, I felt in love with the subject and knew that is what I want to do next.

6. What are you working on right now?
At the moment I am a visiting researcher at UOIT HCI + Game Science group, where I am conducting the final study for my PhD thesis as well as writing up the whole thing.

7. Where do you take your inspiration from?
My family, in particularly my dad. I think when little boys growing up they always want to be the same as their fathers. That was the case for me and I am still trying to become a doctor 🙂

8. What is the biggest challenge you face in your work?
I am aiming to submit my thesis by March 2013, doable but challenging.

9. What else do you like to do?
I am a professional scuba diver but haven’t dived since I started the PhD. I want to go to a proper holiday (sun, beach, no technology with awesome diving sites). After I finish writing my thesis of course.

10. What’s next for you?
Most of my previous works were in collaboration with industry. Ideally I want to have this mix in future. If I stay in research I will make sure I can continue working with industry. If I get an industry position I will keep contact with academia, I enjoy writing research papers.

