1. Name
Eleanor (Ellie) Martin

Ellie running the Cambridge Half2. Role
DPhil candidate

3. Mac or PC?
Mac, which surprises me no end.

4. What is your favourite book?
Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe, by Fannie Flagg.

5. How did you get here?
I was working on some really nasty desktop software, which made me come and do the HCCS Masters. Then I went back out into industry as a web developer for a bit until I saw an advert for the Green Revolution project and attached DPhil.

6. What are you working on right now?
The Green Revolution project (a multiplayer online game)! I’m writing a lot of code, mostly. Struggling to define my objects, and what should go where and how it all fits together. Oh, and trying to write some conference papers. And process some study results. I’m researching how the rules of a game affect the players’ interactions, and whether it’s possible to predict the differences that arise using theories from sociology (specifically social identity theory).

7. Where do you take your inspiration from?
This is going to sound really sappy, but honestly without my partner I wouldn’t achieve nearly as much as I do. I am inspired to greater heights to repay that support in full. I am also inspired by intelligent conversations/blog posts that head in interesting directions, and people who look at things and think of crazy things to add to them, or ways to make them better.

8. What is the biggest challenge you face in your work?
Too little time! There are too many interesting things to do, all of which would quite happily suck up all the hours I could give them.

9. What else do you like to do?
Probably too many things! I run, knit, cycle, sew, garden… I also occasionally like to play music. I can play clarinet, sax, flute and ukulele, but at the moment I only play at home. If anyone needs a slightly rusty woodwind player let me know!

10. What’s next for you?
Ideally I’d like to stay in research. I’m interested in positive psychology and how we could use technology to make us happier. I’m also quite interested in how people manage and understand things like multi-author documents and versioning. It’s a common problem that doesn’t seem to have a really good solution yet.

