1. Name
Chris

2. Role
Visiting Research Fellow

3. Mac or PC?
Mac

4. What is your favourite book?
The one I read (and intend to finish)

5. How did you get here?
It was my first post-doctoral position and I was hired to work on the ECHOES II project. I was a PhD student at QMUL before and what I found intriguing about this position was that it would allow me to enter the world of participatory design. I also always was interested in working with people with disabilities, so this fitted the bill.

6. What are you working on right now?
I am writing grant proposals to implement my research ideas which are about researching a different approach to developing assistive technology for children.

7. Where do you take your inspiration from?
Broad mix, mainly from people I hear talk or have the chance to talk to. The immediate research environment is very important, but also conferences and meetings. I am also regularly getting lost in browsing the internet – where one interesting thing leads to the next so easily.

8. What is the biggest challenge you face in your work?
At the moment, getting research funded. Many of my topics are seemingly “soft”, i.e., deal with underspecified, wicked problems that do not fit in well with a positivistic epistemology which is easier for funding bodies and reviewers to trust in. So, articulating that research through design produces theory & knowledge that is worthwhile and scientific in a different way, is a major challenge.

9. What else do you like to do?
Family, Climbing & the Outdoors

10. What’s next for you?
Partly answered above, I suppose. I am working on grant proposals with Geraldine, and my next destination is hopefully Vienna.

