Gareth was first to respond, so he’s the first of the people posts.Gareth White

1. Name
Gareth R. White.

2. Role
Ph.D. researcher.

3. Mac or PC?
PC only for gaming, Mac for everything else.

4. What is your favourite book?
No Ajahn Chah – The Teachings of Ajahn Chah.

5. How did you get here? 
I used to make video games professionally, and became interested to see what academia could offer the industry. Dipped my toe back into the water with a 1 year MA in New Media, then joined Sussex as a Research Fellow for a further year before starting my D.Phil.

6. What are you working on right now?
Writing up my thesis.

7. Where do you take your inspiration from?
The scientific method; humour; play; ἀρετή; 功夫; Eddie Izzard; Buddha; LSD; 소녀시대; Rudyard Kipling; John Keats; Sisyphus; my friends Paul and Phil; my grandparents.

8. What is the biggest challenge you face in your work?
Finishing in time.

9. What else do you like to do?
Exercise: squash; cycling; gym.
K-pop clubbing.
Buddhist meditation, devotion and community.

10. What’s next for you?
After the Ph.D. I might move to South Korea or Thailand, and probably continue to work in game research or development.

